12% : newest : archive : profile : book : notes : e-mail


an inez design.
Copyright 2002-2015

And now for something completely different

2004-02-09 @ 1:44 a.m.

And Now For Something Completely Different

So the weirdest thing happened to me today at work. Most of the time when I'm at work, I do absolutely nothing. Which usually means, obsessively checking email, playing games at www.addictinggames.com, visiting homestarrunner, or just chatting with my fellow bored co-workers.

But today I had to do some dubs for some customers. When I got there, it seemed as though the previous shift messed something up, so I needed to call him.

I remember he gave me his cell number so I called it from my cell. For the sake of his privacy let's call him "Rootie Tootie Fresh and Froootie". So I call the number and a woman answers the phone. I think "yeah go Rootie", I ask to speak to Rootie. A man answers the phone.

"Hi this is Beth from Star" (our place of 'work')

"I'm sorry, who?"

"This is Beth. From the Starlab"

"The where?"

At this point I think he is just fucking with me.

"I'm sorry, is this Rootie Tootie Fresh and Frootie??"

"Yes, who is this?"

(sigh)

"This is Beth from work."

"I'm sorry I don't know any Beth"

"Okay, sorry to bother you."

So I go over to my co-worker and tell her what just occurred. I am utterly confused at this point. As Dave pointed out there are several options:

1) Rootie is drunk and doesn't know where HE is.

2) He has amnesia

3) I somehow have the wrong number.

4) He's fucking with me.

5) I'm actually insane, and didn't talk to anyone just now.

But I told him that I could have sworn ROOTIE gave me the number. And what are the chances that I mistakingly put the wrong number in my cell, and yet it was a number for another Rootie Tootie?!?

So N calls the number back. At this point the woman is getting a little suspicious. Here are two girls calling her husband. "Are you guys telemarkers?", she asks.

"No ma'am we are just trying to figure out where Root Toot Fresh Frooot is."

"Well, I'm sorry you must have the wrong number."

More confusion.

Meanwhile, I email the REAL Fresh pleading for him to call me. He is expected for the shift at 3, so I know some sort of explanation is coming shortly.

Then the OTHER R.F.F.R calls back ON THE WORK PHONE.

"Hello?"

"Hi, this is Fresh again, I was wondering how you got this number to being with"

"Um, I dont know sir, that's what I'M trying to figure out. And wait a minute, you are calling on my work phone, I called you from my cell. How did you get THIS number??"

"I looked it up in the directory."

stress headache begins.

So the real Toot comes in for his shift, I excitedly tell him what the F is going on. I told N earlier that if HIS number is just one number different, and that I had misheard and typed his number wrong to begin with, and THAT number belonged to a man with the same exact name that I would buy $100 dollars in lottery tickets, because WTF are the chances of that happening? I mean seriously think of the odds of that possibility.

But alas, his number wasn't even close.

So this whole thing is still not resolved. I still have no idea how I got that other number. You might be thinking, 'duh, you obviously looked up his name in the phone book, or school directory.' Well no, I didn't. And the odd thing is, the other dude graduated from my school years ago..and I don't even have a school directory. I distinctly remember my Root from work gave me that number... or at least so I thought.....

previous + next

4 comments so far