12% : newest : archive : profile : book : notes : e-mail


an inez design.
Copyright 2002-2015

A Case of the Mondays

2004-05-03 @ 10:39 a.m.

A Case of the Mondays

You know it's going to be a rough day when you literally start off on the wrong foot. I was driving to work, and I noticed that my shoes seemed even tighter than usual. I take them off and sure enough, I had my left on my right, and my right on my left...super. What I can't believe is that it took me that long to realize it.

I've been at work for about two hours now and evidently today is 'Call and Blame the Receptionist for Your Own Incompetence Day'. I'm hoping it's not a national holiday, for the sake of all the other receptionists out there.

I know I talk about work a lot, but dude it consumes most of my time, so shut it.

And in that vain, I've thought of even more exciting stupid things to do at work. I think I'm just going to put this list together and make a pamphlet (I love that word) and sell it to other receptionists...hilarity will ensue. Ensue, I say!

So since I have now laced people's coffee with Hawaiian Punch, they notice the distinguishing flavor and then ask me what is different about the coffee. It's hard to restrain myself from yelling, "It's people, PEEEEOOPPLLLLLLE" and then run out of the office, flailing my arms about.

The awkward part is somehow coming back into the office afterwards. "Hi, yeah so ignore what I just did there..."

Another fun thing to do is when I transfer a call to someone and they ask who it is, I tell them to guess. And if they guess wrong, I yell 'price is wrong, bitch' and hang up on them.

previous + next

5 comments so far