12% : newest : archive : profile : book : notes : e-mail


an inez design.
Copyright 2002-2015

Awesome day

2007-11-26 @ 4:39 p.m.

Let me just say that announcing that you and your husband are going to have a baby is exciting, nerve-racking (that's a word, right?) and frustrating. Let me tell you what happened when I found out.
Just a month and a half after we got married I realized how much I hate doing housework. A child was clearly the answer. A few weeks later I was too excited and nervous to wait to be 'late', so I purchased one of those 'you will know before you do it that you are pregnant tests' and decided that it couldn't hurt to try. Angel was on set shooting one of the last days of his film. I wasn't expecting anything really. But I did get on my hands and knees and prayed that it would be positive. I asked God that if this is what He planned for us, that we were to have a baby, that I would try everyday to be a good mother. I wanted this baby to be asked for. About 5 minutes later I looked at the strip and the second line was, well visible! My mouth went agape. AGAPE! Suddenly my heart stopped and I stared at it in disbelief. Then I started to laugh/stutter/cry. Then I'll never forget this, I was in the bathroom and I looked at myself in the mirror. I suddenly saw a different person. Yeah, it was Bethie, but a Mommy Bethie. I looked at myself as a mother. I began to cry and smile and got back on my hands and knees and thanked Him. Then I immediately called Angel and told him. He was/is just as excited as I am.

I couldn't have wished for a happier and perfectly played out revelation. I thank Him everyday and rub my ever-expanding tummy everyday and wonder what he/she will be like. I pray that the baby will be healthy. That's all I really care about. Well, that and whether or not there is enough cheesecake ice cream in the freezer. It's a toss up really, as to which is more important. Perhaps they are equally important. I'm not sure yet.

previous + next

3 comments so far