12% : newest : archive : profile : book : notes : e-mail


an inez design.
Copyright 2002-2015

war absolutely nothing!

2003-02-21 @ 9:14 p.m.

You know, usually in this diary I like to avoid actual issues. I try to just provide a distraction for myself against all the crap that is going on.

But the other day I actually decided to watch the news, and as usual, I became enraged with our media.

"Tonight at 11, we show you possible future terrorists targets, and how they can access it, with the most damage possible".

I am thinking, 'you've got to be kidding me'.

So I continue to watch, and here is Molly McHelper telling us exactly how to hurt America the most. "Now it is not likely, and we even doubt that Bin Laden has even thought of it, but what happens if they try to bomb the Hoover Dam?"

Now they don't stop there, they just don't talk about bombing the dam, they describe exactly what to do to make that happen.

I know that we need to go to war, but my good friend, "Skippy" is being shipped out Monday, and I am really scared for him. He enlisted in the army reserves before 9/11, before any of this shit started happening. I know when you enlist, you should be prepared for the worst, but he did it to become a responsible young man, and that he has. I come from a strong military background, both of my grandfathers fought in WW2, but now that this is my generation, and my friends....it's just too real. So many of the people that I know, my friends, etc don't even talk about what is going on. I know we are all trying to get on with our lives, and not try and focus on all the shit that is going down. But the fact is I live 15 miles within the capitol of the most powerful nation in the world.

I also love the fact that the government is telling us to go buy duct tape and plastic wrapping, as if that is actually going to help us. It is just a way to appease us, to make us feel better. ala 'duck and cover' of the 60's.

I'll be praying for you Skippy, and I hope that all of you (whoever you are) that read my diary, will pray for him too.

God bless.

previous + next

0 comments so far