12% : newest : archive : profile : book : notes : e-mail


an inez design.
Copyright 2002-2022

My-Get-Rich-Painfully-Slow-Scheme

2010-11-04 @ 11:55 p.m.

I've recently started selling my unused belongings. I'm lucky enough to have a two car garage, (came unluckily with an underwater mortgage, of course) and at this point I don't think I could fit a Hot Wheels in there. Point is, I gotta lotta stuff I don't need. I have been selling these items on Craigslist and have been writing rather goofy and humorous listings. Thus, the stuff has been selling. Apparently not just sex sells, sarcasm does too.

This recent return into a form of "creative writing", (creative salesmanship) has led to the ultimate and obvious conclusion...

I need to write a book. A la my author idols, David Sedaris and Sarah Vowell. Perhaps a tad grandiositacious, (yes I made that word up, but I'm awesome and can do that) but most likely completely irrational...but possibly...possible. Best selling authors weren't born best-selling authors, right?

I know my diaryland visits have been few and far between, and when I do appear it is all about how I don't visit... and Isabel. (she's 2 and a half now and a princess, by the way) All I need now is time, luck and funny words that go well together. And oh yeah, an agent and book deal. But I'm sure that's just a walk in the park, right?

If anyone is out there, let me know what you think.

previous + next

3 comments so far