12% : newest : archive : profile : book : notes : e-mail


an inez design.
Copyright 2002-2015

Big Sister, Big Sister, Big Sister and Meeee

2004-08-06 @ 2:00 p.m.

One For Aimers

It has come to my attention that a lot of my sisters' co-workers read my nonsense here, so I thought it was time to tell a little story about my childhood, (and maybe mention her name once in a while). My brother Patch, Amy and I are exactly all 3 1/2 years apart. During the years 1983 through 1986 our family lived in Ft. Worth, Texas. Where the common greeting was 'howdy' and 'YEEEE HAWWW!!' It was actually illegal to NOT yell yeehaw, either. If you were caught casually using this phrase you would be promptly placed on a bull where you would be forced to ride for at least 8 seconds. If you failed well, you'd die. So yeah, everyone yelled it.

These are the years where I was the tender age of 4 to 7 and Amy was 8 to 11. We lived in a 'ranch' style one-floor house with a kick ass swing-set in the backyard with honey suckles growing all over the property fence. These were the best years of my life. Or at least the funnest. Or at least the years where I thought 'funnest' was a word. Or at least I was 4, so deal with it.

Anyhoo, my fondest memories are with my sister, and our various adventures. My dad taught us about honey suckles and how you can actually suck the honey out of it. My sister and I would race towards the plant and try to get as many as possible, and stuff them in our shirts forming a pouch revealing our little-kid guts. There were both white and yellow ones, and for some reason the white ones tasted better. One day Amy had the bright idea to try and squeegee as many suckles as we could and somehow pour them into a jar to be eaten later. Of course looking back, I realize that is freaking impossible. But that didn't stop us from trying. Except of course, we barely squeegeed any at all. We would start with one and eat it and then say "ok, next one", this went on for hours. Our plan never really worked. It sucked. (haha get it? Sucked?)

Right.

My sister and I shared a room together in that house. This was fun for me, but apparently Amy loathed the idea of sharing her room with "Messy Bessy". You see, my sister is oddly incredibly neat, and anal. I don't know where it came from in a family of the most messy, unorganized and cluttered of people. It came to the point where she placed masking tape in the middle of the room, to which I was not allowed to cross. This would go on for a few months until I eventually pleaded with her to let me switch sides. Because as the younger sister, I always looked up to her and wanted everything she had. She always begrudgingly obliged. Her side of the room was always neater, so I figured we could just switch sides, and somehow my side would stay neater. Yeah, not so much. So every so often we would gather our things and put them on the other side of the room. But then a few days later my side would be messy again and hers would be sparkling with some kind of 'Amy-neat-gene' that maliciously neglected everyone else in the Legs' family. I would ceremoniously ask to switch back because now my old side of the room seemed a lot cooler since she took over. It was a never-ending struggle for me. She ALWAYS had what I wanted.

One year we were watching the 'Miss America Pageant' late at night. We finally had a tv in our room, so we watched it together. Amy decided that we should participate in the pageant ourselves. We had just gotten out of the shower together where we sang 'Rudolph the Red-Nose Reindeer' over and over. (not sure why, but we always sang that song for some reason). We got back into our room with just our towels on and strutted our stuff for the judges. It was then proposed that we take off our towels to really 'wow' the judges. I don't think anyone else knows about this story, so I'm sure she'll be more than thrilled to share it all with you.

Anyway I just wanted to dedicate an entry on this stupid journal thing to her. I have always looked up to her, and I will continue to admire her strength and determination, as she is a very hard working single mother of the handful that is Cameron.

She has always supported me in everything I have done. She has been the most consistent reader of this diary, and is always there for me.

Anyway I love you Amy and please know how proud of you I am, and always have been.

Love,

"Messy Bessy"

This is when Amy went off to VaTech for college. I was so sad when we drove home after we dropped her off. I remember just crying and crying in the car. How dare she leave me with the doofus beind us?


I changed one of the pics here. This is the more appropriate age anyway. Note my piracy here. And I love how proud Amy is of her Grover book. That always cracks me up. As does my ridiculous gut...

previous + next

10 comments so far